top of page

Smaller Guyasuta Zipline Review (2019)

Before I get too far into this, I should say that I last rode this zipline in 2019. I was going to ride it in 2020, but I didn't attend Haunted Guyasuta this year.


First, I want to talk about what happened that led up to me riding this zipline. I attended the Haunted Guyasuta event at BSA Camp Guyasuta. My BSA Troop was doing part of the Haunted Trail. We got wristbands to do the spider climb, zipline, and rock wall. I don't do rock walls, so I did the spider climb, which leads to the zipline. I don't know how tall the structure is, but it feels very tall. If I were to guess, it would probably be about 150 feet.


I got up to the top of the tower, so I couldn't get down even if I wanted to. It was terrifying, but I was restrained, so I was completely safe. It was finally my turn.


Part 1: View


One main part of why Ziplines are so fun are the views. The shorter zipline gave a good view of some of the cabins and parts of the Haunted Trail (from that event). It was a good view, just not much. Probably an 8/10.


Part 2: Pacing


This has some pretty good pacing. It feels like you're going fast, and since it is in the forest and over the camp, it really feels like you go fast. I'd give pacing a 10/10. Pacing always seems great on a zipline.


Part 3: Pre-Ride Suspense


It is always good to have suspenseful start before you ride a ride, and ziplines tend to do this very well. If I were to guess, the tower is probably about 160 feet tall. You have to climb up the spider climb to ride the zipline. That basically means that you climb a rope that looks like a spider net. It is hard to get to the tower from the top of the spider climb. It is just terrifying. The only thing preventing you from falling off the spider climb is an operator holding a rope.


Due to low capacity, you have to wait in a line when you get to the top. You do have to wear a harness during this, so you are secured to the structure. There is then a steep set of stairs you have to go up to get on. The beginning is very suspenseful. I'd give the suspense a 10/10.


In the end, this comes out to a 9.3/10. This is a really good zipline, and I would ride it again. In fact, I was considering riding it again that day, but I had to go back to working at the haunted trail, so I couldn't re-ride.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page