top of page

Flying Coaster (Defunct Flat Ride Model) Review

On November 3rd of 2020, Kennywood announced they would be removing 3 attractions. One of those was the last of the Flying Coaster Flat Ride model. Kangaroo was one of my favorite rides there. Today, I want to give a full review

on this defunct flat ride model.


Part 1: Ride Layout


This ride has a fun layout. You go around a circular layout with a half bunny hill. After the half bunny hill, you are practically flying, hence naming it the Flying Coaster. It went around this layout around 8 times before slowing down and, eventually, stopping.


Part 2: Restraints


These restraints are very comfortable. There is a long lap bar that locks in a single position. This restraint is not very restrictive, which made the ride so fun.


Part 3: Airtime


This is the main point I wanted to bring up. This ride had some flojector airtime. You start being ejected at the end of the half bunny hill. You still keep floating until you hit the ground, so it is pretty sustained.


Part 4: Seats


These seats are pretty comfortable. The seats were padded similarly to a coaster from the 1920s. The seats felt very similar to Jackrabbit. It was comfortable.


Part 5: My Rankings


Back in September, I was going to write about the Kennywood rides ranked, but I decided not to publish it. That was on September 6th, about 2 months before they announced the ride's removal. I counted 26 rides outside of Kiddieland and Thomas town. Of the 26, Kangaroo ranked at #9. I ranked it above more modern flat rides like Cosmic Chaos and Aero 360. Kangaroo was one of Kennywood's best rides, and I hope to see it return in the next few years.


Finally, I would give this an 8/10. It was a great flat ride model while it lasted, but all good things must come to an end. I am glad to have enjoyed Kangaroo while I could, and I hope that Kennywood makes the removal of the ride worth it.


(Quick Edit: I made a few mistakes with publishing this, so that is why this isn't being published on a Wednesday.)



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bayern Kurve Review (Rare Flat Ride Model)

Years ago, Schwarzkopf was a very large ride manufacturing company. By the 1990s, however, they weren't selling as many major looping coasters, following the accident on Mindbender at Galaxyland. They

Tumble Bug Review (Rare Flat Ride Model)

Decades ago, there was a very popular ride model called the Tumble Bug. This was an amusement park staple, like a ferris wheel. It is likely that hundreds were made. Nowadays, there are 2 left. They a

Thunderbolt (Kennywood) Review (2020)

Out of Kennywood's 3 wooden coasters, I've already reviewed 2 of them. Now, it is time to finish the trilogy. Today, I want to review Thunderbolt. Part 1: Appearance Thunderbolt looks really good. It

bottom of page