top of page

How to Ride the Rides at Kennywood

There are many flat rides at Kennywood. There are also some really good coasters. There are some tips that you should know about for how to ride the rides.


There are some rides that I won't go over. I won't go over any defunct rides since there is no reason to talk about rides that no longer exist. I won't talk about Whip, Turtle, Gran Prix, Raging Rapids, Auto Race, or the Carousel because the ride experience is basically the same no matter what on those rides. I won't talk about any rides in Kiddieland or Thomas Town since there are no differences there and I don't think that most of my readers would ride those rides. I haven't ridden Musik Express or Steel Curtain since 2019, so I don't know how to ride those in the best way possible. I also won't talk about any dark rides since the experience is the same. Finally, I have never ridden Black Widow, Skycoaster, or the Paddle Boats, so those won't be on here. Now, let's get to the list.


First, let's talk about Skyrocket. First off, ride in the back. It usually doesn't have that big of a line, and it provides airtime in that row. I don't just mean floater airtime, either. I mean sustained ejector airtime that may make you fear for your life. That is on 2 occasions, too. Make sure to use your legs to push up on the shin guards, too. This can help prevent stapling and help prevent the lap bar from going down. If the lap bar goes down too far, it can hurt.


Next, there is Jackrabbit. My main advice is to ride in the back. No matter what, there is sustained ejector airtime on the double down. The main thing, though, is that, in the back, there is more airtime. You can't be stapled on Jackrabbit, since there is just a grab bar and a seatbelt.


Next, let's talk about Racer. There are specific instructions you need to follow here. Ride in the back row. When boarding, stay on the right and get in the back. Go to the seat closer to the right exit. Even if you can't get the right side, ride on the same seat on the other side. Finally, try making sure you get the red train. These factors add up to the best wooden coaster experience in the park. The ride always duels, there is airtime in some spots, and it just becomes fun. Another thing I want to mention is that they don't really care about the seatbelts, as long as they are buckled. This allows for even more airtime.


Next, we have Aero 360. This flat ride is hard to give advice for. I would recommend sitting on an outside seat, as it is scarier and there is more wind in your face. There is no real advice to prevent stapling. They usually don't staple smaller guests, though.


Next is Thunderbolt. Thunderbolt provides a pretty consistent ride experience between rows. I personally would recommend front, since the line doesn't get much longer there, but I really don't have much to recommend. If you ride in the back, there is some mild floater airtime, but it is very mild.


Next is Pittsburg Plunge. This is one ride where you have really no control. This is the only ride where they always assign seats. I haven't noticed any major differences between rows. The only real difference is that rows further back will get more soaked.


Next is Exterminator. My one recommendation is to sit on the far left side of the train. If you sit on the right side of the train, your head will bash into the side of the car. It will hurt.


Next is Wave Swinger. There aren't really any differences between rows, but, if possible, don't sit with other groups. This ride has a lot of people texting on it, and you should just stay away from others.


Next is SwingShot. When the lap bars are ready to come down, don't lower them much. The operator will push it down as far as necessary. I would recommend riding as far to the left or right as possible. I personally prefer riding on the front left, but it doesn't matter too much.


After this, we have Phantom's Revenge. Always ride towards the back. If you ride from the middle to the front, you have airtime going into the brakes. Riding towards the back gives you airtime on the second drop. The first drop is also a lot whippier in the back.


(Side Story: I once went to Kennywood with a Pirates hat. I forgot to take it off on Skyrocket, but I caught it before I lost it. I then went directly to Phantom's Revenge, and I forgot to take it off. The ride took it off for me. The height attendant got it, though, and I was able to get it back.)


Next, we have Pirate. There are no tips for the restraints, as they are buzz bars. I would recommend riding in the very back.


Finally, we have Cosmic Chaos. Puff out your stomach (if you can) when the restraint is coming towards you. Then, keep doing that, but in a way that you can breath. That allows you to more easily breath. You can also use your back to keep the restraint in place. Not doing those can make it difficult to breath and will result in being uncomfortable and potentially making it painful. I'm pretty sure that all of the Disk'o rides and the Moto Coasters use the same restraints, so keep this in mind when going on any of those.


I hope to give you an updated list in the future.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why I'm Rebranding Pittsburgh Thrills

It's been a while since I've posted anything on the Pittsburgh Thrills Blog or the Instagram. For a while, I've been considering how I should restart, but I've made the decision to completely rebrand.

Top 5 Best Roller Coaster Soundtracks

Oftentimes, Roller Coasters have amazing soundtracks. They are designed to go well with rides, and the rides often are very extreme. I find Roller Coaster soundtracks to be some of the best ever. Toda

Kennywood 2022 Predictions

Recently, I've been thinking a lot about the future of Kennywood. Furthermore, I've been talking a lot with a friend who works at the park. Those conversations have helped me think of some things that

bottom of page