top of page

Kiddieland Review at Kennywood

Before I get started, I should say that I am not the target audience of this area. At the time of writing this, I am 13. This area is mainly meant for kids around 8 and under. Because of that, I am instead going to judge off of what is important for the area. I want this to be better organized than my review of Thomas Town, so I am going to be looking at the 5 things that I would consider most important.


Part 1: Appearance


This area of the park looks good at the front, but not as much towards the back. Rides like Whippersnapper and the Mini Swing Ride look great, but when you get towards the back, the park starts just looking worse and worse. Lil Phantom needs a repaint. SS Kenny and Red Baron should probably just be removed at this point. They also need to do some maintenance on the appearance of Crazy Trolley.


Now, there is an upside of the area: trees. The trees in the area provide some good shade and look pretty good. They hide parts of the area from the outside, which is nice, in a way.


Appearance, overall, gets a 6.5/10. It isn't that great and I would call it above average.


Part 2: Atmosphere


The area has a good atmosphere. The area just feels like it is lots of fun, for some reason. It provides fun to walk through the area, in my opinion. Now, I may be biased on my thoughts here, since I have been going here since I was only one year old, but I just feel like it has a great general feel. I say it gets an 8/10.


Part 3: Games and Non-Ride Activities


Kiddieland is a great area for games and non-ride activities. On my 12th birthday in summer of 2019, my cousin, who is only a few months older than me, and I had some fun at Kiddieland. I rode Lil' Phantom and SS Kenny, but I had more fun just playing some of the midway games there. Furthermore, the area has Face Painting for kids and a Dino Dig area. For the Non-Ride Activities, I would give this an 8/10.


Part 4: Food


This area has some decent food options. They have either 1 or 2 restaurants, depending on if you count the Pizza Warehouse next door. There is also Snack-o-Saurus, a Beansprouts restaurant in the back of the area. I have not eaten there for food (When I was little, I made my parents take me to get Mac and Cheese at the Parkside Cafe, not at Snack-o-Saurus), but I have had a smoothie from there and it was very good. Right outside of Kiddieland is the Pizza Warehouse. This place has some pretty good pizza and some sandwiches. That restaurant is better for teenagers and adults. With those 2 restaurants, I would give this area a 7/10. The food is standard park food, but it is still enjoyable, so that is why I give it a 7.


Part 5: Rides


I grew up going to Kiddieland, so I have ridden most of their rides. I will say that, for a little kid, the area is a blast. The rides that the adults can ride are also pretty fun, including Lil' Phantom, Dizzy Dynamo, Crazy Trolley, and SS Kenny. Considering who the audience is here, I would give the area an 8/10. It could use a new family coaster, though: something like Dragonflier at Dollywood or Freedom Flyer at Fun Spot Orlando. I could even see Red Baron being removed and replaced by an SBF Visa Spinner.


Final Score:


The total score is 7.5/10. I think that this deserves that score. The area isn't perfect, but they have a decent, fun area for the whole family.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why I'm Rebranding Pittsburgh Thrills

It's been a while since I've posted anything on the Pittsburgh Thrills Blog or the Instagram. For a while, I've been considering how I should restart, but I've made the decision to completely rebrand.

Top 5 Best Roller Coaster Soundtracks

Oftentimes, Roller Coasters have amazing soundtracks. They are designed to go well with rides, and the rides often are very extreme. I find Roller Coaster soundtracks to be some of the best ever. Toda

Kennywood 2022 Predictions

Recently, I've been thinking a lot about the future of Kennywood. Furthermore, I've been talking a lot with a friend who works at the park. Those conversations have helped me think of some things that

bottom of page