top of page

My Experience at the US National Whitewater Center in Late June, 2019

Towards the end of June 2019, I went on a trip to Charlotte, North Carolina. Before I actually talk about the trip, I should say that I didn't take many photos since I was really bad at photography. I only have photos from the Carolina Raptor Center, so don't expect any photos from the Whitewater Center. Now, let's get to my experience.


When we got there, my group had to meet up. We waited by the Ticket Booth then eventually got our wristbands. I do honestly think that someone could easily just walk in, though, but I don't know the policy (I live 10 hours away and have only visited once).


After meeting with the rest of the group, we had around an hour before we were scheduled to go rafting. I decided to try the Rock Wall to the left of the entrance. This was a waste of time for me. I can't even complete a playground's rock wall or the one at the Pittsburgh Science Center. Of course I can't complete the one that is a lot taller and with more distanced "rocks".


Afterwards, we started getting ready for the Whitewater Rafting. For reference, this was on a trip with an organization I'm leaving unnamed for this story. My group went Rafting after around 30 minutes.


We had to get some equipment and had to get prepared. First, everyone had to get and wear a PFD (Personal Flotation Device, better known as a "Life Jacket") and we all had to get a paddle. We were given instructions. We were then brought to the rafts and practiced movement a bit. Then, we were brought over to one of the courses.


The first course was pretty difficult for me. We did the course again and then did a second course before eventually going back to the dock and getting off.


My group went back to our shelter and met up.


Next, I ended up meeting with others in the group.

I got to my new small group. The first attraction we went to was basically a rock wall over an in-ground swimming pool. I found it fun, even if I suck at Rock Walls.


We did that attraction twice before going kayaking.


I need to give a bit of information quickly. Something you need to know is that I left my water bottle at the shelter. Also, it was a very hot, humid, sunny day. I'm used to hot summer days, but I'm not that used to very sunny summer days, since I am from literally the cloudiest city in the US.


Anyways, we went to their area to go Kayaking on the Catawba River. This was only my second time Kayaking and my first time doing just flatwater kayaking.


The information I gave 2 paragraphs ago was important because those conditions led to me getting dehydrated after being on the river for only around 15 minutes. I had to leave early and I went back to the shelter.


After getting more water and then getting a Hummus Wrap for lunch, we eventually left again. After using the restroom, my dad invited me to go with a group to Figure 8. For those who don't know what I am talking about, Figure 8 is this large scale set of attractions. You start by climbing a massive tower. I believe it is something like 300 feet above the main area, though it is built on a large hill. After climbing the tower, you go on a zipline that goes over some of the hill, some of a forest, and some of the midways. After that, you go into a Ropes Course. You finally go through another zipline. There is a review coming out later this week on it, so I won't go into much detail about my experience there.


After completing Figure 8, we left and ended the day at a nearby Golden Corral.


Overall, I enjoyed my trip to the USNWWC. It was a lot of fun and I would go again if given the chance. I would honestly love to revisit here and the Carolina Raptor Center but replace my trip to the Latta Plantation with a trip to Carowinds.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why I'm Rebranding Pittsburgh Thrills

It's been a while since I've posted anything on the Pittsburgh Thrills Blog or the Instagram. For a while, I've been considering how I should restart, but I've made the decision to completely rebrand.

Top 5 Best Roller Coaster Soundtracks

Oftentimes, Roller Coasters have amazing soundtracks. They are designed to go well with rides, and the rides often are very extreme. I find Roller Coaster soundtracks to be some of the best ever. Toda

Kennywood 2022 Predictions

Recently, I've been thinking a lot about the future of Kennywood. Furthermore, I've been talking a lot with a friend who works at the park. Those conversations have helped me think of some things that

bottom of page