top of page

My First (Notable) Kennywood Experience

My first visit to Kennywood was in 2008. I was an infant, so I don't even remember that happened. Around when I was 4 (2011), I started riding some of the Kiddieland rides. The visit I'm talking about, though, was in August of 2014. This was shortly before I turned 7. I had just become 48 inches. This was my first time riding many of the rides there, so I would like to talk about this visit.


The day was off to a great start. We went to Log Jammer, one of the few rides that we would all ride as a family and the ride that Steel Curtain replaced. Afterwards, we went to Kiddieland. I rode Lil' Phantom. I feel that I should mention that I rode Jackrabbit for the first time the prior year. I rode some of the Kiddie rides, and I was having fun. I went and rode the Gimbel Flyer (Now "A Journey with Thomas) with my mom. I got off and met up with my dad, brother, and sister.


I remember sitting by the Dino Dig in Kiddieland when my sister asked me, "Do you want to ride Phantom's Revenge?" I had said how I first want to get ready. First, I rode Jackrabbit. Then, my sister brought me on Racer for the first time. Racer was my favorite roller coaster from then until 2019, and I still probably overrate it to this day. After those, I rode Lil' Phantom again before I considered myself ready to ride Phantom's Revenge.


We got in line for Phantom. I was both excited and terrified. I don't remember much about that first experience. As we went up the lift, my sister told me that "It only feels like 30 seconds". We got to the top of the lift. My sister told me that I should put my hands up. I honestly don't remember if I put my hands up or if I held on for my life. I ducked when we got to every head chopper. I don't really remember the turnaround, which makes me think that I may have greyed out.


My sister and I got off Phantom. I was very dizzy. We got to the photo stand when it felt like my head blew up. I think its because of head banging caused by my body going forward then backwards fast. This was before my head was higher than the seat.


I went back to Kiddieland, where my mom was waiting for us. I ended up going to get water. My headache got better after eating a bowl of Mac and Cheese from the Parkside Cafe. I think I got one last ride on Racer that day. Afterwards, I remember there being fireworks (which I hated at the time).


In the end, I came out with a hatred for Phantom, a LOVE of Racer, and a great tasting bowl of Mac and Cheese.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why I'm Rebranding Pittsburgh Thrills

It's been a while since I've posted anything on the Pittsburgh Thrills Blog or the Instagram. For a while, I've been considering how I should restart, but I've made the decision to completely rebrand.

Top 5 Best Roller Coaster Soundtracks

Oftentimes, Roller Coasters have amazing soundtracks. They are designed to go well with rides, and the rides often are very extreme. I find Roller Coaster soundtracks to be some of the best ever. Toda

Kennywood 2022 Predictions

Recently, I've been thinking a lot about the future of Kennywood. Furthermore, I've been talking a lot with a friend who works at the park. Those conversations have helped me think of some things that

bottom of page