top of page

My Kennywood 10 Year Plan Prediction

In March of 2020, before lockdown, Palace Entertainment announced at Coaster Bash that they want to add something new to every park each year. It doesn't have to be a new ride, just something new to draw people in. However, not many people have been speculating on what Kennywood could be adding next, so I want to give my predictions for what they'll add, what they'll remove, etc.


First, let's review what they added in the last 5 years. In 2015, they added the 4d theater. In 2016, they refurbished Noah's Ark. In 2017, they had a down year and removed Log Jammer. In 2018, they added Thomas Town. In 2019, they added Steel Curtain, Steeler's Gift Shop, and End Zone Cafe. Now, let's look at the predictions. In 2020, they restored Old Mill, but they removed Garfield's Nightmare, 2 kiddie rides, Bayern Kurve, Kangaroo, Volcano, and Paratrooper.


For 2021, we know that they will be opening the rest of Steeler's Country. This will include the opening of Steeler's Experience. I predict that they will announce that they are removing Raging Rapids. Raging Rapids takes up a huge plot of land. It isn't as popular, and it is down a lot now. I expect that Raging Rapids will close early in the Season. Probably around the end of June-Mid July, I'm guessing. They will host a last-rides event. I think that they may also auction off the rafts. In addition, I think that they will remove Elephant Parade and Red Baron. These are 2 of the kiddie rides. Elephant Parade and Red Baron are rarely ever open because they are similar to Harold's Helicopter Tour and these are higher maintenance rides. I think that they will sell Elephant Parade and put Red Baron into storage.


For 2022, I think that they are going to get an RMC Raptor. The Raptor is the perfect addition for a park like Kennywood. It would be a low cost, low footprint ride with a decent capacity. This will have 10 rows, 3 trains, a moving loading platform, etc. It will be a custom layout. In addition to the Raptor, I think that they will add an SBF Visa Spinning Coaster. They would have just removed Red Baron and Elephant Parade. I think that they could relocate Whipper Snapper and the kiddie Wave Swinger. They would then add an SBF Spinner. They only have one kiddie coaster. I think they'll call it Tickler in memory of their Kiddie Virginia Reel from the early 1900s.


In 2023, I think that they are going to add a new cafe. They have a Dunkin Doughnuts with only Coffee in the Candy Kaleidoscope. I would expect a new building with a Dunkin Doughnuts at Kiddieland. I have heard parents say that there should be some sort of area in the center of the park near Kiddieland where parents can sit in the A.C. and maybe get Coffee or Tea. The people who I heard say that say that where Golden Nugget and Pizza Warehouse are would be a good location. This could mean them removing the central show stage, though, but many of the shows are at the Kennyville stage anyway.


In 2024, I think they will add an S&S Launched Axis. The Axis will fill their Invert gap. Despite the issues with Steel Curtain at Kennywood and Merlin's Mayhem at Dutch Wonderland, I think that they will keep working with S&S. S&S is a cheaper, well liked manufacturer. No longer working with them would severely limit their options.


In 2025, I think they will expand Steeler's Country. Steeler's Country was successful, and people will be going there a lot in 2021. I think that they may add some indoor rides in Steeler's Experience.


In 2026, I predict that they will add a Vekoma Family Boomerang. They haven't had a Shuttle Coaster since they removed Laser Loop in 1990. This Family Boomerang would fill the Shuttle Coaster and Steel Family Coaster gaps. If they don't go with a Vekoma, they could go with a Gerstlauer like Rewind Racers.


In 2027, I think they will restore Racer. I think that they would retrack it, as some areas are getting kind of rough. I think that they will repaint it, as some areas need a repaint. Finally, I think they will restore the original trains. It opened with trains from the Dayton Funhouse Company, the company that became the National Amusement Device Company. They replaced the trains with PTC trains in the 1980's. They had 12 trains, according to the Heinz History Center. This might mean that they may restore some of them for Racer's 100th Anniversary.


For 2028, I think they will just have a down year. At max, I could see some modifications to Thunderbolt for its 50th anniversary.


For 2029, I think they could add a Gerstlauer Euro-Fighter. They don't have any beyond-vertical coasters. Also, the Infinity Coaster might be similar to Steel Curtain, so the Euro-Fighter would be the better pick.


Finally, for 2030, I think they would get a new flat ride. I don't know what, but it would likely be a family ride. This would be 10 years from now, though, so I don't know what it may be.


In the end, please just keep in mind that these are just predictions. This is in no way something confirmed. I hope you enjoyed.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why I'm Rebranding Pittsburgh Thrills

It's been a while since I've posted anything on the Pittsburgh Thrills Blog or the Instagram. For a while, I've been considering how I should restart, but I've made the decision to completely rebrand.

Top 5 Best Roller Coaster Soundtracks

Oftentimes, Roller Coasters have amazing soundtracks. They are designed to go well with rides, and the rides often are very extreme. I find Roller Coaster soundtracks to be some of the best ever. Toda

Kennywood 2022 Predictions

Recently, I've been thinking a lot about the future of Kennywood. Furthermore, I've been talking a lot with a friend who works at the park. Those conversations have helped me think of some things that

bottom of page